1994 Masterpieces in Silver Five Coin Collection

  • 1 Units in Stock


Add to Cart:


It was the golden age of exploration in Australia, with each expedition pushing back the frontiers of knowledge until the entire vast continent held few remaining secrets.  Even the frozen Antarctic continent could not stop such people.  The Royal Australian Mint pays homage to these heroes with the 1994 Masterpieces in Silver collection.

This 1994 set is the second and last of The Explorers Series.  It is the companion to the 1993 set which saluted Australia's first human inhabitants and early European contact.

Each piece has been designed and struck to the highest possible quality standards by the Royal Australian Mint.

The reverses of all five 1994 Masterpieces in Silver coins were designed by Vladimir Gottwald.  He also sculpted John McDouall Stuart and Sir Douglas Mawson.  Charles Sturt, Ludwig Leichhardt and Sir John Forrest were sculpted by Wojciech Pietranik.  The obverse design is the traditional portrait of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II by Raphael Maklouf.

The $5 coins are beautifully presented in the Royal Australian Mint original box, accompanied by a certificate of authenticity and outer box.

Limited mintage of 20,000 sets.

As we have several of the sets in stock, the serial number may vary from the item shown.

Please note - the leatherette cover on the presentation coin box has started to degrade slightly (due to the compound they used to coat the box); this wear and tear is normal for both the 1993 and 1994 Masterpieces in Silver Collections.


Customer Service

Our Guarantee

Our Cookie Policy

Important Links

Who's Online

There currently are 255 guests online.

Your IP Address is:
Copyright © 2018 Weighton Coin Wonders. Powered by Zen Cart