1984 - 1987 Silver Proof £1 Collection (4 x coins)

  • 1 Units in Stock


Add to Cart:

By Royal Proclamation of 22nd June 1983, Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II authorised four new designs for the reverse of the one-poiund coin.  The four designs, adopted in turn for the years 1984 - 1987, represent Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland and England.

To commemorate this significant occasion in the history of the United Kingdom coinage, the Royal Mint issued 50,000 proof coins in silver of each design.  Within this issue limited, a number have been reserved for inclusion in a four-coin collection case.

The reverse designs, all including the Royal Diadem, show a thistle for Scotland, a leek for Wales, a flax plant for Northern Ireland and an oak tree for England.  These are the work of distinguished silversmith, Leslie Durbin.  The obverse of the Scottish coin bears the Arnold Machin portrait of The Queen, while the new effigy by Raphael Maklouf appears on the other three coins.

The edge inscription on the Scottish coin reads Nemo Me Impune Lacessit, (no-one provokes me with impunity) and on the Welsh coin Pleidio Wyf I'm Gwlad (true am I to my country).  The coins representing Northern Ireland and England have the traditional words Decus et Tutamen (an ornament and a safeguard).


Denomination - One Pound (Silver Proof)

Alloy - Sterling Silver

Weight - 9.5 grammes

Diameter - 22,5 mm

Limit Issue - 50,000

The 4 £1 Silver Proof coins are incapsulated and presented in their original red Royal Mint case with the Silver medallion and detailed certificate.


Customer Service

Our Guarantee

Our Cookie Policy

Important Links

Who's Online

There currently are 81 guests online.

Your IP Address is:
Copyright © 2018 Weighton Coin Wonders. Powered by Zen Cart