2018 BU £2 Coin - The Red Arrows

  • 1 Units in Stock


Add to Cart:



The Red Arrows - or Royal Air Force Aerobatic Team - have been enthralling crowds for over 50 years.  Presently based at RAF Scampton, the team was formed in late 1964 as an all-RAF team, replacing a number of unofficial teams that had been sponsoored by RAF commands.

Since 1966, there have been nine display pilots each year, all volunteers.  Pilots must have completed one or more operational tours, have accumulated at least 1,500 flying hours and have been assessed as "above average" in their flying role to be eligible.  Pilots stay with the Red Arrows for a three-year tour of duty, with two or three changing each year.

This colourful cover carries the Royal Mail's 2018 Red Arrows 4v Stamps which have been postmarked on 1st June 2019, the date of their first 2019 display at Torbay Air Festival.  To mark the centenary of The RAF and honour their sacrifice in protecting Great Britain’s skies, The Royal Mint has issued a 2018 commemorative £2 coin.  The reverse features the design by Rhys Morgan of the Badge of the RAF. The Badge features an eagle flying in front of a circle with the Imperial Crown at the top. The edge inscription is the official RAF motto ‘PER ARDUA AD ASTRA’, which is Latin for ‘Through adversity to the stars’

A Certificate of Authenticity accompanies the cover.

The cover has also been numbered within the strict edition limited of 500.

Customer Service

Our Guarantee

Our Cookie Policy

Important Links

More Information

Who's Online

There currently are 408 guests online.
Your IP Address is:
Copyright © 2022 Weighton Coin Wonders. Powered by Zen Cart