2002 Uncirculated Coin Set - Year of the Outback

  • 1 Units in Stock


Add to Cart:


The year 2002 marked Autralia's celebration of the "Year of the Outback".  The Australian Outback is a part of Australia both geographically, and ideologically, that has never been defined and may mean something different to every Australian.  To  most Australians it means simply "out there" and conjures up images of vast contrasts in landscape across vast distances.  To those in the east, it is out west, to those in the west, it is somewhere back towards the east, while those in the north and south feel it is somewhere out there in between them.

The Year of the Outback has been selected for 2002 to focus attention on inland Australia.  It is about evoking the quintessential Spirit of the Outback so it touches every Australian and international visitor, giving them a genuine understanding of the uniqueness and potential of the Australian Outback.  This set of six Uncirculated coins, produced by the Royal Australian Mint, commemorates that mystical, undefined area - Australia's Outback.

This set of six year 2002 uncirculated coins has been specifically developed by the Royal Australian Mint, Australia's National Mint, to celebrate the Year of the Outback.  The $1 coin displays the official logo of the Year of the Outback, while the 50 cent coin depicts that well known Australian icon, the once prevalent windmill.  The feature coins of this set are beautifully compliment by the 5c, 10c, 20c and $2 coin, depicting the original circulating coinage desigs.  Ian Rank-Broadley's image of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II appears on all the obverses.  All coins in this set are struck to uncirculated quality.

Presented in a beautifully-illustrated presentation folder.


Customer Service

Our Guarantee

Our Cookie Policy

Important Links

Who's Online

There currently are 219 guests online.
Your IP Address is:
Copyright © 2019 Weighton Coin Wonders. Powered by Zen Cart